The SoftSimu Group was established in September 2000. The group was then at Helsinki University of Technology where it was awarded the university's Young Centre of Excellence Award in 2003. The group's first PhD (DrTech) graduated in 2004. The group moved to Applied Mathematics at the University of Western Ontario in January 2006 and has since then moved to its current location at Waterloo Chemistry.

To brag a little, our current people and alumni include European Union Marie Curie Fellows, Academy of Finland Fellows (similar to the Royal Society Fellowship in the UK), Volkswagen Foundation Grantees, the winner of the best Italian PhD thesis in biophysics, and several professors.

Group leader


Postdoctoral fellows

Dr. Drew Bennett (PhD)

Winner of the 2014 Polanyi Prize
NSERC Sir Frederick Banting Fellow
Projects: Advanced drug delivery systems
From: Biocomputing Group, University of Calgary

Dr. Trang Do (PhD Physics)

Projects: Intrinscally disordered proteins
From: Physics, SISSA, Italy

Dr. John Titantah (PhD Physics)

    @ Research Gate
Projects: Nanoparticles, properties of water, LII
From: Physics, Unversity of Antwerpen, Belgium


PhD Students

Bin Liu

WIN Nanofellowship Awardee
Projects: Cationic lipids, Langmuir monolayers
membrane-drug interactions

Behnaz Bagheri

Projects: Transport in quantum scales.
Molecular electronics.

Yuriy Khalak

NSERC Bell Scholarship Awardee
Projects: GPU code for bond polarization

no pic yet Pranav Madhikar

Projects: GPU programming
Modeling cell division & motility


MSc Students

None at the moment

Undergraduate students

None a the moment.


  • Mona Habibi. PhD with us. Now @ UBC Physics
  • Anna Mkrtchyan. PhD with us. Now @ McGill Physics
  • Viwan Jarerattanachat. Visiting student. Now @ Oxford
  • Andrew Weng. UG summer student. Now @ Tesla Motors
  • Matt Hoopes. PDF with us. Now in California
  • Ali Madani. MASc with us. Now at Waterloo Applied Math.
  • Dr. Jari Jalkanen. PDF with us. Now @ Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Computational Materials Physics.
  • Dr. Niloufar Faghihi. PhD with us. Now @ McGill Physics.
  • Dr. Elio Cino. PhD with us. Now a Young Talents Scholar at U. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
  • Dr. Martina Pannuzzo. Visiting student 2010-2011. Now @ Uni Erlangen.
  • Jessica Xie. Visiting student 2011. Now at Fudan Mech Eng.
  • Alex Marshall. MSc with us. Now @ StFX
  • Dr. Susanna Hug. PhD with us 2007-2011. Now in Switzerland
  • Dr. Mohsen Pourmousa. PhD with us 2007-2011. Now @ Tampere Biophysics
  • MSc Sepideh Soltani. MSc with us 2010-2011. Now @ UWO Physics
  • Doki Hwang. NSERC USRA student 2009.
  • Dr. Markus Miettinen. PhD with us. Now a Volkswagen Fellow at Physics at Freie Universitat Berlin, Germany.
  • Dr. Jirasak Wong-Ekkabut. Postdoc 2008-2010. Now professor of physics, Kasetsart University, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Dr. Salvador Herrera Velarde. CONACYT Postdoc 2009-2010. Now at Benemerita Universidad Autonoma de Puebla, Mexico.
  • Dr. Cristiano Dias. Postdoc 2007-2009. Now professor at NJIT Physics.
  • Dr. Pawel Pomorski. Postdoc 2006-2008. Now at SharcNet.
  • Mr. Jason Eastman. BSc with us.
  • Dr. Lei Dong. Dr. Tech. in our group. Now EU Bensoussan Fellow at the Norwegian University of Science & Technology.
  • Dr. Tomasz Rog. Marie Curie Fellow and a postdoc 2004-2008. Academy of Finland Fellow.
  • Dr. Andrea Catte. Postdoc  2007-2008. Now at University of Alabama at Birmingham.
  • Mr. Jason O'Young, MSc student 2007-2008. Now at UWO dentistry.
  • Mr. Sanjin Sijaric. BSc with us. Now at IBM Canada.
  • Dr. Lorna Stimson. Postdoc 2004-2007. Now at Wiley in Germany.
  • Dr. Jarmila Repakova. Postdoc 2005-2007. Now at TU München, Germany.
  • Ms. Rolina van Gaalen. BSc with us. Now at McGill.
  • Mr. Matthew Cox. BSc with us.
  • Dr. Wei Zhao. DrTech in our group. Now at U. of Calgary, Canada.
  • Dr. Petri Nikunen. DrTech in our group. Now in the Finnish IT Center for Science.
  • Dr. Teemu Leppänen. MSc & DrTech in our group. Now at IBM.
  • Dr. Michael Patra, Postdoc, Marie Curie Fellow 2001-2004. Now at Carl Zeiss, Germany.
  • Prof. Ji-Ping Huang, long-term visiting student 2002. Now professor at Fudan physics
  • Dr. Nick Braun, visiting scientist.
  • Mr. Li Jingynan, IAESTE trainee 2002
  • Mr. Olli-Pentti Saira, summer student 2004.
  • Mr. Olli Mali, summer student 2003.
  • Mr. Markus Siivola, summer student 2002.
  • Dr. Alex Bunker, senior researcher 2005. Now senior researcher @ Drug Development & Tech Center, U. of Helsinki.

Friends and collborators